The 90s are all that

By Katharine Rice, Class of 2012

We all remember the lines “Welcome to good burger, home of the good burger. Can I take your order?”  and “Who loves orange soda? Kel loves orange soda!”  These were our favorite quotes as children. Now, with Nick showing our favorite shows kids can share the joy of having them back.

The main audience watching these shows is us 90s kids. Having our favorite shows back, from Rugrats to The Amanda Show, is plain awesome. I now have the privilege of looking at my six year old sister, Emma, and saying, “Em, that’s what I watched when I was little.” My only complaint is that Emma and I cannot sit there and bond over the best cartoons out there. Why? The reason is because the majority of the shows air after midnight. I started to wonder if teens are staying up past midnight to catch these shows.

After a day of walking the halls of Washington, I have my answer. Many of us are indeed staying up into the early hours of the morning, and many of us are talking about the episode of Rugrats that aired the night before. I hear many kids starting conversations by asking, “Did you watch The Amanda Show last night?” Even more so, I see many Facebook statuses that say something along the lines of, I wish Nick would air these shows earlier in the day. The 90s Are All That and Nick is awesome, but it would be even better if it aired earlier in the day.

4 Comments to “The 90s are all that”

  1. That explains why you’re all so tired!!

  2. When the amanda show started i was only 5. I could remember it was my favorite show. I may not be a 90’s kid but i love what nick is doing

  3. never heard of the Amanda show ever. i don’t know why, i guess too much wrestling from the 90’s.

Leave a Reply

