Polite, a poem

By Sandybel Cedeno, Class of 2013

I try to thank everyone for what they’ve done for me,

Even if after I don’t understand,

What exactly it means to do the right thing,

They say you should do well and help others,

If you should, would it be mean to be helped and then just walk away.

 

Surprised by being welcomed,

Confused about what doing a favor means or meant.

Mostly judged because I don’t believe in a simple good-bye.

But that if it’s meant to be, there will be another hi.

What can be so common is also misunderstood.

Weather I was raised rich or in the hood.

I don’t think anything would change my thought and mood.

 

People keep asking me the same questions,

And I continue to give them the same answers.

Because even if I was nice and not rude,

I don’t think anything would change in anyone’s attitude.

Weather I said please or demanded, what would’ve made a difference?

Just being polite doesn’t mean things are good.

Leave a Reply

