Take me back

By Paige Hughes, Class of  2014
 
Take me back to when all homework consisted of was coloring in pages rather then a five page essay.
Take me back to when we all believed in the pinky promises & actually keeping them.
Take me back to when we weren’t worried about such things as boyfriends & girlfriends because we all thought everyone had “cooties.”
Take me back to when there was a thing called nap time during school hours & not getting a detention for it.
Take me back to when the only test we worried about studying for was a simple vocabulary test consisting of maybe ten words rather then the SATs consisting of over one hundred. 
Take me back to when it was cool to have a lunchable for lunch, but now they’re never bought.
Take me back to when everyone thought you were cool if you had five dollars in your pocket unlike now when five dollars lost its coolness.
Take me back to when we had everything & anything we wanted as kids, but now we have to work for it.
Take me back to when there was no uniform & we could wear whatever we wanted.
Take me back to when we really didn’t worry about grades because college wasn’t a major subject to talk about. 
Take me back to when sleep wasn’t important, but now it’s something we all cannot get enough of it.
Take me back to when college was not a worry, it was whether you were going to be found in hide & go seek.
Take me back to when there was no drama, now that’s all that there ever is.
Take me back to when I was a little kid, the simple, fun life. 
One Comment to “Take me back”

  1. I love this and it really does take you back–makes me slow down a bit and think about what really matters. Thx!

Leave a Reply

